Hacks to Re-Enable Right-Click When Web Pages Turn It Off

Tools -> Options -> Web Features -> uncheck Enable JavaScript

link to the initial page
konfabulator error message

"can't open widget the parameter is incorrect"

simply rename the widget then it should work again
dual boot: sata drive & IDE drive

I set first boot to SCSI, and it worked. I have all the newest drivers, and BIOS. Everything works now. windows saw the drive, so I'm good. Thanks for the help


The first link solved the problem. It appears that the BIOS doesn't behave as it should do. When you have both an IDE and SATA drive installed, you must disable the IDE detection in the BIOS and all is then well.


http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/33492/
Your SATA drive isn't on an IDE Channel its on a SCSI controller. Set your bootable drive to SCSI in the BIOS.


http://www.computing.net/hardware/wwwboard/forum/30306.html

Search Companion Starts If You Double-Click a Folder


RESOLUTIONWARNING: If you use Registry Editor incorrectly, you may cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that you can solve problems that result from using Registry Editor incorrectly. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.To resolve this problem, edit the registry to set the value data for the Default string value in the registry keys that are described in the "Cause" section of this article to none:

Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).

Locate and then click the Default value under the following keys in the registry if this problem occurs with folders:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell

If this problem occurs with drives:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell

Click Modify on the Edit menu.

Type none in the Value data box, and then click OK.
Quit Registry Editor.


http://support.microsoft.com/?id=kb;en-us;321186

Adobe Photoshop 7
Creating Transparent Images


http://www.uwec.edu/help/Photoshop7/transpimgs.htm

Using the Transparency Option
It is possible to set your image up at the same time you are setting up your page dimensions. You can use the Transparency option to create an image on a single layer with no background color values.

NOTE: If you use the Transparency option, you can save your file only in the Photoshop format because no other software can read Photoshop's layer format. However, you can export the image so the file can be used by other programs.

From the File menu, select New...
The New dialog box appears.

In the Name text box, type the name of your image

Set the width and height for the image

In the Contents section, select Transparent

Click OK

Continue working with your image using the Photoshop tools


Making an Existing Background Transparent
You may find an image you want to use, but may not want the background of the image. It is possible to remove the background color from an image. Removing the background color works best if the image has a simple one-color background. While it is possible to make a multicolored background (e.g., the background in a photograph) transparent, this involves more steps and often has mixed results.

Open the image

In the Layers palette, double click the background layer
NOTE: This may be the only later present.
The New Layer dialog box appears.

In the Name text box, verify that it reads Layer 0
NOTE: Do not make changes to the Opacity and Mode settings.

Click OK

In the toolbox, click the Magic Wand tool

In the image, using the Magic Wand tool, click the background
NOTE: The Magic Wand tool selects similar colors in the vicinity of where you click.
An animated dashed line appears around the background or area of similar color.

OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), to select multiple sections of the background at once, press and hold [Shift] while clicking with the magic wand tool. This will add to your selection.
NOTE: To deselect areas from your selection (e.g., the Magic Wand tool selected part of your image you do not want selected), press and hold [Alt] while clicking the areas you want to deselect.

Once the background is selected, press [Delete]
The background (or selected area) becomes transparent.

OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), you may find it necessary to repeat steps 5-8 to delete the remaining parts of the background.


Exporting the Transparent Image
If you would like to use a Photoshop image in another program, but you need a transparent background, you can use the Export Transparent Image option. This option allows you to open the image with other software. This is a very precise process and works well for images such as clip art; however, it may not work as well for more complex images like scanned photographs. You can save the image for use in print or on the Web.

Exporting the Transparent Image: for Print
From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.


Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT


Select Print and click NEXT
The Save As dialog box appears.


From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location


In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for you image


From the Format pull-down list, select the desired image format
NOTE: JPEG or CompuServe GIF is likely to be the most compatible with other programs.


Click SAVE
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.


Click OK
The Gif Options dialog box appears.


Make the desired selection and click OK


Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use in another program.

Exporting the Transparent Image: for the Web

From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.

Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT


Select Online and click NEXT


Select GIF and click NEXT


Click NEXT
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.


Click OK
The Save As dialog box appears.


From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location


In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for your image


Click SAVE
The GIF Options dialog box appears.


Make the desired selection and click OK


Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use on the Web.


How do I make the background of desktop icon text transparent?
If you're using desktop wallpaper, you'll still see a border around your icon captions the same color as your solid background. Here's how to remove that border so that the text looks like it's written right on your wallpaper:
Windows XP

Open System Properties in Control Panel, choose the Advanced tab, and click Settings in the Performance section. Turn on the Use drop shadows for icon labels on the desktop option, and click Ok.
You can also try MicroAngelo (v5.5 or later), which allows you to change the text color, configure custom icons, and change other aspects of Windows.
Another utility of this type is WindowFX.
hey list,
i have a personal website with cgi scripts that allow people to post messages. I wanted to backup the whole website. how can i do this? is there a simple way just to download the whole website and make a backup out of it?
thanks.


Open up your FTP client, connect, select all the folders in your site, hit 'copy' and then 'paste' onto a folder on your hard drive.

with the cgi-bin, all the permissions will be lost, so if you place these scripts back at a later date, you'll have to reset them (unless you physically overide an existing one, then it will assume the same permissions).

How is the message board data stored? In a file within the cgi-bin/site, or within a database? You may need to backup the database separately.

Thanks
Andy,
Steelcity Internet

see all on dreamweaver disscussion board
Director Xtra publish problem

I just created my first Director 8 Movie. When I try to run the movie from the web browser, I get:

"This application requires an Xtra (Animated Gif ...) that either does not exist or failed to initialize properly. Please make sure the appropriate Xtras are in the Xtras folder(s)."

What do I need to do to correct this?

Accepted Answer from winwiz 12/20/2000 10:11AM PST
the gif agent (xtra) is not shockwave compatable, it will work as a projector (exe) but not on the web, the best thing to do is find a gif editing program that you can use to break down the gif to it's frame-by-frame content, then import each frame's content into director and animate it manually, you can then create a film loop if you like. This way, you will not require the gif agent.



How to remove the underline from linked text

from Macromedia support center

remove underline of hyperlink


Create hyperlinks that do not have underlined text
Standard HTML convention places an underline on text that has been wrapped in anchor tags, so that the user receives the feedback that the text is linked to another file. Modify > Page Properties provides a dialog box that allows for the selection of the color that all hyperlinks on the page will be displayed. However, the Properties window does not provide a means for the the developer to turn off the underline attribute. If it is desired to delete the default underline, it is possible to do so by redefining the attributes associated with the anchor tags on a specific page.

JAVA
Replace/remove character in a String

To replace all occurences of a given character :
String myString = "Replace ' by * ";
String tmpString = myString.replace( '\'', '*' );
System.out.println( "Original = " + myString );
System.out.println( "Result = " + copyString );



To replace a character at a specified position :
public static String replaceCharAt(String s, int pos, char c) {
return s.substring(0,pos) + c + s.substring(pos+1);
}



To remove a character :
public static String removeChar(String s, char c) {
String r = "";
for (int i = 0; i < s.length(); i ++) {
if (s.charAt(i) != c) r += s.charAt(i);
}
return r;
}



To remove a character at a specified position:
public static String removeCharAt(String s, int pos) {
return s.substring(0,pos)+s.substring(pos+1);
}



Check this Optimize How-to for a more efficient String handling technique.

verizon fios quantum router - switching from an old router to a new one

  this is a guide about how to replace verizon fios quantum router G1100 with the exact same model.  you can simple unplug everything and re...