Firefox 3 does not support the extension "always allow right click." To enable this feature, go to Tools->Options->Content-Advanced and unclick "Disable or replace context menus."
this information comes from here (Iyov)
pc problems, software questions, etc... the problems solved. just to keep track of them. and maybe help others who might be having the same problem and looking for a solution.
celtx customize typeset
i love celtx. it's a great open source software to write a screenplay.
but i have always wanted to be able to change font size or border when using typeset to generate PDF files. however, it was not possible to do so, because there's no function designed for it. in the discussion forum they also stated it's currently not able to do so.
but i have figured out a work around to make it possible.
first go download PDFcreator. it's also an open source software. free.
after downloaded it, just click on the exe file and install it.
then open up your script in celtx. in script mode, go to file/print preview. now click on 'page setup', and select tab 'margins & header/footer'.
here you can adjust where you want the border and the header, footer. after you finished adjustments, click ok. the script will auto adjust according to the parameter you set.
when you are happy with the setting, click 'print'.
in the popup menu, select drop down menu to choose printer 'PDFcreator'.
name the pdf file and save it to whereever you like on your computer.
there you go. done.
but i have always wanted to be able to change font size or border when using typeset to generate PDF files. however, it was not possible to do so, because there's no function designed for it. in the discussion forum they also stated it's currently not able to do so.
but i have figured out a work around to make it possible.
first go download PDFcreator. it's also an open source software. free.
after downloaded it, just click on the exe file and install it.
then open up your script in celtx. in script mode, go to file/print preview. now click on 'page setup', and select tab 'margins & header/footer'.
here you can adjust where you want the border and the header, footer. after you finished adjustments, click ok. the script will auto adjust according to the parameter you set.
when you are happy with the setting, click 'print'.
in the popup menu, select drop down menu to choose printer 'PDFcreator'.
name the pdf file and save it to whereever you like on your computer.
there you go. done.
sony vaio laptop audio problem
i recently installed windows xp pro on my sony vaio laptop VGN-S series.
everything went well. i made the system restore cds and searched online for step by step instructions.
there's only one problem. there was no sound.
(initially, the modem was not working either.)
i checked the system profile, it indicated that the audio high definition device has no driver.
after some googling, i found out there's xp sp2 updates needed to be installed.
the updates are kb835221 and kb888111. they can be found through google.
here is another copy of kb888111 xpsp2, if the other one doesn't work.
so what i did was uninstalled audio device from system profile. reboot. run kb835221, then run kb888111 xpsp2. (the kb888111 didn't work for my laptop. don't know why.)
then run the audio driver from system restore disk. which can be found in folder
vaio\Drivers\Audio
after installed the driver, reboot.
that solved my problem.
everything went well. i made the system restore cds and searched online for step by step instructions.
there's only one problem. there was no sound.
(initially, the modem was not working either.)
i checked the system profile, it indicated that the audio high definition device has no driver.
after some googling, i found out there's xp sp2 updates needed to be installed.
the updates are kb835221 and kb888111. they can be found through google.
here is another copy of kb888111 xpsp2, if the other one doesn't work.
so what i did was uninstalled audio device from system profile. reboot. run kb835221, then run kb888111 xpsp2. (the kb888111 didn't work for my laptop. don't know why.)
then run the audio driver from system restore disk. which can be found in folder
vaio\Drivers\Audio
after installed the driver, reboot.
that solved my problem.
sony vaio laptop --- reinstall xp
to reinstall xp home, just press F10 after start up.
it will bring up a menu, from there choose reinstall xp.
it will bring up a menu, from there choose reinstall xp.
sony vaio laptop ---enable full screen from start up
how to enable full screen from the beginning of the splash screen:
1. press F2 when the windows start up.
2. let it go into BIOS
3. change the display option to 'yes' for enabling full screen
4. save and restart the computer
1. press F2 when the windows start up.
2. let it go into BIOS
3. change the display option to 'yes' for enabling full screen
4. save and restart the computer
dual boot: sata drive & IDE drive
I set first boot to SCSI, and it worked. I have all the newest drivers, and BIOS. Everything works now. windows saw the drive, so I'm good. Thanks for the help
The first link solved the problem. It appears that the BIOS doesn't behave as it should do. When you have both an IDE and SATA drive installed, you must disable the IDE detection in the BIOS and all is then well.
http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/33492/
Your SATA drive isn't on an IDE Channel its on a SCSI controller. Set your bootable drive to SCSI in the BIOS.
http://www.computing.net/hardware/wwwboard/forum/30306.html
I set first boot to SCSI, and it worked. I have all the newest drivers, and BIOS. Everything works now. windows saw the drive, so I'm good. Thanks for the help
The first link solved the problem. It appears that the BIOS doesn't behave as it should do. When you have both an IDE and SATA drive installed, you must disable the IDE detection in the BIOS and all is then well.
http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/33492/
Your SATA drive isn't on an IDE Channel its on a SCSI controller. Set your bootable drive to SCSI in the BIOS.
http://www.computing.net/hardware/wwwboard/forum/30306.html
Search Companion Starts If You Double-Click a Folder
RESOLUTIONWARNING: If you use Registry Editor incorrectly, you may cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that you can solve problems that result from using Registry Editor incorrectly. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.To resolve this problem, edit the registry to set the value data for the Default string value in the registry keys that are described in the "Cause" section of this article to none:
Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
Locate and then click the Default value under the following keys in the registry if this problem occurs with folders:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell
If this problem occurs with drives:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell
Click Modify on the Edit menu.
Type none in the Value data box, and then click OK.
Quit Registry Editor.
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=kb;en-us;321186
RESOLUTIONWARNING: If you use Registry Editor incorrectly, you may cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that you can solve problems that result from using Registry Editor incorrectly. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.To resolve this problem, edit the registry to set the value data for the Default string value in the registry keys that are described in the "Cause" section of this article to none:
Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
Locate and then click the Default value under the following keys in the registry if this problem occurs with folders:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell
If this problem occurs with drives:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell
Click Modify on the Edit menu.
Type none in the Value data box, and then click OK.
Quit Registry Editor.
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=kb;en-us;321186
Adobe Photoshop 7
Creating Transparent Images
http://www.uwec.edu/help/Photoshop7/transpimgs.htm
Using the Transparency Option
It is possible to set your image up at the same time you are setting up your page dimensions. You can use the Transparency option to create an image on a single layer with no background color values.
NOTE: If you use the Transparency option, you can save your file only in the Photoshop format because no other software can read Photoshop's layer format. However, you can export the image so the file can be used by other programs.
From the File menu, select New...
The New dialog box appears.
In the Name text box, type the name of your image
Set the width and height for the image
In the Contents section, select Transparent
Click OK
Continue working with your image using the Photoshop tools
Making an Existing Background Transparent
You may find an image you want to use, but may not want the background of the image. It is possible to remove the background color from an image. Removing the background color works best if the image has a simple one-color background. While it is possible to make a multicolored background (e.g., the background in a photograph) transparent, this involves more steps and often has mixed results.
Open the image
In the Layers palette, double click the background layer
NOTE: This may be the only later present.
The New Layer dialog box appears.
In the Name text box, verify that it reads Layer 0
NOTE: Do not make changes to the Opacity and Mode settings.
Click OK
In the toolbox, click the Magic Wand tool
In the image, using the Magic Wand tool, click the background
NOTE: The Magic Wand tool selects similar colors in the vicinity of where you click.
An animated dashed line appears around the background or area of similar color.
OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), to select multiple sections of the background at once, press and hold [Shift] while clicking with the magic wand tool. This will add to your selection.
NOTE: To deselect areas from your selection (e.g., the Magic Wand tool selected part of your image you do not want selected), press and hold [Alt] while clicking the areas you want to deselect.
Once the background is selected, press [Delete]
The background (or selected area) becomes transparent.
OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), you may find it necessary to repeat steps 5-8 to delete the remaining parts of the background.
Exporting the Transparent Image
If you would like to use a Photoshop image in another program, but you need a transparent background, you can use the Export Transparent Image option. This option allows you to open the image with other software. This is a very precise process and works well for images such as clip art; however, it may not work as well for more complex images like scanned photographs. You can save the image for use in print or on the Web.
Exporting the Transparent Image: for Print
From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.
Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT
Select Print and click NEXT
The Save As dialog box appears.
From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location
In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for you image
From the Format pull-down list, select the desired image format
NOTE: JPEG or CompuServe GIF is likely to be the most compatible with other programs.
Click SAVE
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.
Click OK
The Gif Options dialog box appears.
Make the desired selection and click OK
Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use in another program.
Exporting the Transparent Image: for the Web
From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.
Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT
Select Online and click NEXT
Select GIF and click NEXT
Click NEXT
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.
Click OK
The Save As dialog box appears.
From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location
In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for your image
Click SAVE
The GIF Options dialog box appears.
Make the desired selection and click OK
Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use on the Web.
Creating Transparent Images
http://www.uwec.edu/help/Photoshop7/transpimgs.htm
Using the Transparency Option
It is possible to set your image up at the same time you are setting up your page dimensions. You can use the Transparency option to create an image on a single layer with no background color values.
NOTE: If you use the Transparency option, you can save your file only in the Photoshop format because no other software can read Photoshop's layer format. However, you can export the image so the file can be used by other programs.
From the File menu, select New...
The New dialog box appears.
In the Name text box, type the name of your image
Set the width and height for the image
In the Contents section, select Transparent
Click OK
Continue working with your image using the Photoshop tools
Making an Existing Background Transparent
You may find an image you want to use, but may not want the background of the image. It is possible to remove the background color from an image. Removing the background color works best if the image has a simple one-color background. While it is possible to make a multicolored background (e.g., the background in a photograph) transparent, this involves more steps and often has mixed results.
Open the image
In the Layers palette, double click the background layer
NOTE: This may be the only later present.
The New Layer dialog box appears.
In the Name text box, verify that it reads Layer 0
NOTE: Do not make changes to the Opacity and Mode settings.
Click OK
In the toolbox, click the Magic Wand tool
In the image, using the Magic Wand tool, click the background
NOTE: The Magic Wand tool selects similar colors in the vicinity of where you click.
An animated dashed line appears around the background or area of similar color.
OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), to select multiple sections of the background at once, press and hold [Shift] while clicking with the magic wand tool. This will add to your selection.
NOTE: To deselect areas from your selection (e.g., the Magic Wand tool selected part of your image you do not want selected), press and hold [Alt] while clicking the areas you want to deselect.
Once the background is selected, press [Delete]
The background (or selected area) becomes transparent.
OPTIONAL: If the image has a multicolored background (e.g., the background of a photograph), you may find it necessary to repeat steps 5-8 to delete the remaining parts of the background.
Exporting the Transparent Image
If you would like to use a Photoshop image in another program, but you need a transparent background, you can use the Export Transparent Image option. This option allows you to open the image with other software. This is a very precise process and works well for images such as clip art; however, it may not work as well for more complex images like scanned photographs. You can save the image for use in print or on the Web.
Exporting the Transparent Image: for Print
From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.
Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT
Select Print and click NEXT
The Save As dialog box appears.
From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location
In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for you image
From the Format pull-down list, select the desired image format
NOTE: JPEG or CompuServe GIF is likely to be the most compatible with other programs.
Click SAVE
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.
Click OK
The Gif Options dialog box appears.
Make the desired selection and click OK
Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use in another program.
Exporting the Transparent Image: for the Web
From the Help menu, select Export Transparent Image...
The Export Transparent Image Wizard appears.
Select My image is on a transpartent background and click NEXT
Select Online and click NEXT
Select GIF and click NEXT
Click NEXT
The Indexed Color dialog box appears.
Click OK
The Save As dialog box appears.
From the Save in pull-down menu and other navigational tools, select the desired save location
In the File name text box, type an appropriate name for your image
Click SAVE
The GIF Options dialog box appears.
Make the desired selection and click OK
Click FINISH
The image is saved and ready for use on the Web.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
verizon fios quantum router - switching from an old router to a new one
this is a guide about how to replace verizon fios quantum router G1100 with the exact same model. you can simple unplug everything and re...
-
this is so awesome i have to post about it. i have been bothered with word 2010 when typing chinese, the font would automatically revert to...
-
how to enable full screen from the beginning of the splash screen: 1. press F2 when the windows start up. 2. let it go into BIOS 3. change t...
-
get rid of a248.e.akamai.net browser attack symptom: when you try to go to a webpage, the browser warns you of a redirect by "a248.e....